

Dr. Pinar Balci, Angela Licata and Mikelle Adgate Long Term Control Plan Program NYC Department of Environmental Protection By email to: ltcp@dep.nyc.gov

Re: Comments on NYC DEP's Fall Update to the Citywide/Open Water Long Term Control Plan (Citywide LTCP)

November 25th, 2019

Dear Pinar, Angela and Mikelle:

On behalf of the Van Cortlandt Park Alliance (VCPA), thank you for all of your hard work on the Citywide LTCP and especially for including the Daylighting of Tibbetts Brook in this plan. As you know, the Friends of Van Cortlandt Park, a predecessor of the Alliance, has been advocating for daylighting of Tibbetts Brook for almost 20 years. We are proud to be a part of the Coalition for Daylighting Tibbetts Brook, which consists of over two dozen community organizations and local elected officials who support the project. I have attached a list of Coalition members.

We are glad that the Citywide Plan includes not only removing the baseflow of Tibbetts Brook from the Broadway sewer but also calls for an open channel with a natural stream bed. An open channel with natural stream bed is crucial to the local environment to allow this area to absorb additional runoff from the surrounding areas and in order for it provide habitat for our local wildlife. We also support the "Van Cortlandt Lake Improvements" that are included. One additional enhancement would be to include a Living Shoreline Design, such as the one created by Dr. Paul Mankiewicz of Bronx Council for Environmental Quality. The Living Shoreline would help reduce the amount of sedimentation and pollution entering Van Cortlandt Lake as a result of runoff from the Major Deegan Expressway.

Once again, thank you for including Daylighting of Tibbetts Brook in the Citywide LTCP. The Van Cortlandt Park Alliance looks forward to working with and supporting the NYC DEP to implement the Daylighting of Tibbetts Brook and the Van Cortlandt Lake Shoreline projects.

Sincerely,

Christina A. Taylor

Christina Taylor
Director of Programs and Operations

Board Members

Carol J. Samol, Co-Chair

Nina Habib Spencer, Co-Chair

Robert Baron

Claudia Bonn

Linda Cox

Dr. Thomas M. Kelly

Rabbi Binyamin Krauss

Holly Leicht

Dr. Brennan O'Donnell

Amit Stern

Teresa Grant Stoeth

Stacey Wieder

Iris Rodriguez-Rosa, Ex-Officio